Ballerinos and Ballerinas

Tonight, after Austin’s day of interviewing (which I’m sure merits an update from the man himself), we visited the Charleston Ballet Theatre with our friends Matt and Katie for an riveting performance set to Motown hits. Although Austin and I didn’t appreciate this experience fully, as evidenced by the frequent hand squeezing, muffled giggles, and statements through gritted teeth such as, “that was the stupidest thing I’ve ever been to,” I enjoyed a few of the contemporary dances by the more talented performers. I especially nodded my head to Marvin Gaye’s “Inner City Blues” (one of the Motown hits I’d never heard before, imagine that) done by a flexible young man with intercostal muscles that you could spot from across the room, although that wasn’t the reason I enjoyed it. It was pretty charming for a small town ballet company. I’m not sure if we’ll visit again. Perhaps for some classical ballet next time.

About aerampey

An RN, an artist, admirer of nature, a music enthusiast, a laugher at most jokes, a lover of my Savior Jesus, a sidekick to my husband, a friend to my sister, a daughter to my parents, a listener to my friends. View all posts by aerampey

Leave a Reply

